Wildlife and Nature Photography

Desert Light Painting

Light Painting in the Desert

I thought I would experiment with a photographic technique that I had read about while camping in the Utah desert near Canyonlands National Park.  The technique is sometimes called “light painting,” because the photographer (or an assistant) basically “paints” light across the background of the area within the frame with a flashlight or other light source at night, during a long-exposure.  I produced this photograph by having my wife shine a flashlight across the sandstone while the shutter was open for about 30 seconds.

Brian Healy Photography

http://bhealyphoto.zenfolio.com/

Canon 40D, Canon L17-40mm lens, f4.0, 30 seconds

3 responses

  1. Interesting technique.

    The stars must have been so clear overhead that night.

    November 19, 2009 at 11:58 pm

  2. susie clark

    I would like to purchase this photo. Is it for sale?

    February 20, 2010 at 2:56 am

  3. Mario Davalos

    Wow!! Thats the firs word that comes to mind with this picture. All your pictures are great but his one has a light to it, that just makes me think “I wish I had taken that photo”. Congratulations!

    October 12, 2011 at 11:53 pm

Leave a Reply

