Wildlife and Nature Photography

Atlantic Puffins, Skellig Islands, Ireland

I had always wanted to be a wildlife photographer when I was young (or a pilot), but thought doing that sort of thing was out of reach for the average person.  I bought my first SLR Canon camera when I  graduated from college and a rather inexpensive, slow, 300 mm zoom lens.  From a distance of about 10 feet, on an island off the west coast of Scotland, the Atlantic puffin was the first animal I photographed with that camera.  It made me realize taking photographs of wildlife was not impossible!

This shot was taken more recently with my Canon 40D, 100-400 mm L IS lens at 1/250 second, f/5.6, with a monopod for support.

Copyright Brian Healy Photography 2009

See more from this gallery at http://bhealyphoto.zenfolio.com/ireland

6 responses

  1. Northern Narratives

    Beautiful photo. Happy Holidays.

    Greetings from my photo blog at http://northernprints.wordpress.com

    December 24, 2011 at 8:23 pm

    • Thanks you so much! Happy Holidays to you as well,
      Brian

      December 24, 2011 at 10:11 pm

  2. narhvalur

    Reblogged this on Ann Novek–With the Sky as the Ceiling and the Heart Outdoors.

    January 22, 2012 at 5:01 pm

    • Thanks so much for reposting my blog!

      January 22, 2012 at 11:24 pm

  3. Gorgeous color!

    January 22, 2012 at 7:18 pm

    • Thank you! They are very photogenic!

      January 22, 2012 at 11:17 pm

Leave a Reply

