Wildlife and Nature Photography

On The Brink, Grand Canyon

And now for something different……

My last two blog posts consisted of photos of birds, so I decided to try something new.  I’ve never posted a panoramic photo on my blog before, so I hope this image is well-represented on your screens!

I took this photo from a South Rim viewpoint on Hermit Road, looking west as a large spring thunderstorm approached.  The image is a combination of 4 photos that I stitched together in Photoshop.

Grand Canyon is an awe-inspiring, incredible place……

Canon 40D, Canon 17-40 mm L-series

1/18th of a second at f18, 23 mm focal length

To see more, visit my gallery at http://bhealyphoto.zenfolio.com/

Copyright Brian Healy Photography 2010

5 responses

  1. narhvalur

    Reblogged this on Ann Novek–With the Sky as the Ceiling and the Heart Outdoors.

    January 29, 2012 at 7:46 pm

  2. I love the Grand Canyon.. been there 3 or 4 times.. but that was prior to my SLR days. Would love to go back there with all my camera gear now.

    January 29, 2012 at 9:20 pm

    • It is AWESOME! I actually have a non-photography related job there, so I get to go into the canyon quite a bit. Actually, what I didn’t realize before I started there, is how many other incredible things there are to see beyond the Canyon rim- springs, waterfalls, incredible rock formations, diverse plan t communities, and of course the largest remaining population of an endangered Colorado river fish! 🙂

      January 29, 2012 at 9:28 pm

  3. OUTSTANDING!

    January 29, 2012 at 10:00 pm

  4. Thanks so much!

    January 29, 2012 at 10:04 pm

Leave a Reply

